fbpx
tag Sign Up for our Newsletter
Site Logo
Don’t miss out on the art world’s most entertaining newsletter - every Friday. And career news every Tuesday.
Become a members
15 Female French Artist 'Grams You Must Follow
Les artistes to add to your global watch list. Thank us later.
Art Girls Jungle 19 Dec 2019

France is famous for style, love and gastronomy, but it is also home to the Louvre, perhaps the most celebrated museum of art in the world. As well as fashion boutiques and cute restaurants, French art girls should be high up on your radar, and we’ve got you covered with a list of the top 15 artists you should start following on the gram. 
 
Fabienne Verdier @fabienne.verdier


Fabienne Verdier is an abstract painter who, having studied in China, draws on knowledge of both Western and Eastern art. Painting vertically in ink, her work has been exhibited worldwide with her recent projects including a conceptual collaboration with architect Jean Nouvel for the National Art Museum of China project in Beijing. Her gram shows her art-making process, using giant stretchers that are often positioned in fantastical landscapes. 
 
Ines longevial @ineslongevial


Ines Longevial’s pastel hued IG feed lets us into her dreamy world of peach-toned paintings and inside her studio. Inspired by light, nature and fashion, her work has been exhibited in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Berlin and Paris. 
 
Marguerite Humeau @marguerite_humeau


A trustee of London’s Open School East, a space for collaborative artistic learning in Margate, England, Marguerite Humeau has had work exhibited at Palais de Tokyo, in Manifesta and at the Victoria and Albert Museum. Her sculptural work communicates between worlds, creating prehistoric creatures and resuscitating the voice of Cleopatra, clearly quite radical stuff!
 
Alice Guittard @aliceguittard

View this post on Instagram

opening tomorrow at @filaf_festival

A post shared by aliceguittard (@aliceguittard) on


Alice Guittard is a multidisciplinary artist who places narrative at the heart of her work. Spanning sculpture, photography and paint, her work has been shown at Paris Photo and Palais de Tokyo. Having grown up in the foot of the mountains in southern France, the landscape is one of her biggest inspirations, with her gram documenting her art-making process.
 
Elsa Leydier @elsaleydier

View this post on Instagram

#tb ???? Rio de Janeiro, 2017 #35mm #riodejaneiro

A post shared by Elsa Leydier (@elsaleydier) on


A winner of the Dior emerging talent award, photographer Elsa Leydier lives and works between Lyon and Rio De Janeiro. She has exhibited at Rencontres Arles and at Paris Photo. Her IG feed has a millennial friendly feel to it, full of warm colours, and dreamy portraits. 
 
Claire Tabouret @clairetabouret

View this post on Instagram

Self portrait as a Vampire. 2019 (Close up)

A post shared by Claire Tabouret (@clairetabouret) on


Claire Tabouret’s IG feed is full of her female-centric paintings. She is most famous for her Makeup series that depicts women whose faces are covered in makeup. Throughout her career she has exhibited with Yoko Onoand had work acquired by such institutions as LACMA.
 
Alicja Kwade @alicejakwade


Alicja Kwade’s sculptural installations manipulate materials like wood and glass and often consider time, incorporating hourglasses and other similar objects. She has been photographed by Mario Testino and shared studios with Olafur Eliasson. Her feed concentrates on the works that she has made/is making, giving us a glimpse inside her exhibitions and studio.
 
Maya Rochat @maya_rochat


Maya Rochat’s IG feed is a presentation of her multimedia works from studio to exhibition. Combining painting, performance and installation, her work has been exhibited in such institutions as Palais de Tokyo and Tate Modern. 
 
Lea Augereau @lea_augereau


Lea Augereau’s paintings depict diverse women on their own terms, and it is these beauties that cover her IG feed. Beginning as a fashion designer, Lea swiftly moved into painting, drawing attention to modern women who follow their own rules. 
 
Marion Verboom @marionverboom


Marion Verboom’s gram is a look inside her notebook and completely full of her inspirations. Working between sculpture and drawing, her work is inspired by historical forms as well as architecture and geology. 
 
Amandine Guruceaga @amandineguruceaga


Working with fabric, Amandine Guruceaga is interested in the migration of forms and motifs. Based in Marseille, she is the co-founder of the artist run space TANK. Her works explore various materials including leathers and tartans, with her IG feed inviting us into the fabrication process and showing us how her textiles are made. 
 
Marguerite Bornhauser @margueritebornhauser


Everything is depicted under golden hour light under Marguertie Bornhauser’s lens. The photography based artist creates sunshine-tinged images that she splashes all over her IG feed. Mixing art photography with editorial work, she has published books and collaborated with a number of French and international fashion magazines. 
 
Raphaelle Peria @raphaelleperia


Photography-based artist Raphaelle Peria looks to nature to create her work. Incorporating collage into her prints, her IG feed lets us get a glimpse into her art-making process.
 
Latifa Echakhch @latifa.echa

View this post on Instagram

#carladalforno

A post shared by Latifa Echakhch (@latifa.echa) on


Treating the gram like a visual scrapbook, Latifa Echakhch’s feed gives us an intimate glimpse into her life, from running marathons to hosting dinners. Her work has been exhibited in such institutions at the Centre Pompidou, Tate Modern and the Hammer Museum. 
 
Marie Clerel @mclerel


Photographer Marie Clerel is all about light. Preoccupied with the materiality of the image, her IG feed gives us a glimpse into the works she makes. She has exhibited at various galleries and fairs including Paris Photo and Unseen Fair in Amsterdam. 
 
Text Lizzy Vartanian

You May Also Like

An Interview with Tanzanian Artist Valerie Asiimwe Amani
An Interview with Tanzanian Artist Valerie Asiimwe Amani
What to Catch at the Venice Biennale 2024: Insider Tips for the Artfully Curious
What to Catch at the Venice Biennale 2024: Insider Tips for the Artfully Curious
Weekly Wrap-Up
Weekly Wrap-Up
Just Phriends
Just Phriends
When the Internet Meets Copyright
When the Internet Meets Copyright
NFT Happy Hour
NFT Happy Hour

LATEST JOBS

Assistant Curator / Intern
LoZo Gallery - Franklin, PA
Freelance Copywriter
The Armin Bar (NYC|Milan) - Milan, Lombardy, Italy
Deputy Director
Para Site - Hong Kong
 Auction House Intern
New Art Est-Ouest - Hong Kong
ALL 59 JOBS